Not sure if it is a bug for 3.0 or a feature request for 3.2. Maybe something in between...
In our boards we often have the problem, that people don't accept if they are kicked. So they register again. Thats why we just ban the user permanently and don't delete them anymore.
The problem: They still can receive board messages (Email, PNs etc). Even if they are in a User Group where the PM-read Permission is deactivated, people can send them PMs. They won't receive the messages but it is possible to sent it (I think this IS a bug).
Should be possible to prevent banned user to get ny board stuff. Ether with a permission or (better) automatically if they are permanently banned. It's not optimal that you have to edit every single profile of a banned user.
Thanks and best regards