When a post that is placed into the queue is made, the confirmation page states that the user will receive a notification when their post is approved. However, the approver has the option to either notify the user or not. If the approver chooses not to notify the user, the post is approved and of course they do not receive a notification.
The same thing happens for reporting posts.
It's a small wording change, but could lead to confusion.